Cambees Midas Drift Championship Rd4 – Rise of the V8

Whether the abundance of events or an unofficial long weekend the field of drivers and even the spectators was a little bit thin this past weekend at the Rock Raceway. 18 drivers lined up to take a stab at the podium at the fourth round of the drift championship.


It was a rather strange atmosphere as the air of competition seemed to lift and this appeared to have an effect on the drivers, as everyone seemed to be having a lot more fun.


The drivers took to track and set about qualifying and with the event running so smoothly the drivers were relaxed, just enjoying themselves, and before we knew it the qualifying was wrapped up.

Top 16

  1. Leeroy Frans
  2. Hannes Frans
  3. Tim Stephens
  4. George Myburgh
  5. Fred Cooper Jnr.
  6. Matthew Cooper
  7. Larry Smith
  8. Pieter Smit
  9. Danie Herbst
  10. Mohammed Yusuf
  11. Tony Kim
  12. Shaun Febuary
  13. Issufo Ussoman
  14. Theo de Wet
  15. Dennis Palm
  16. Fred Cooper Snr.


Silver Cup

A new young upstart, Brendan Venter, making use of Pieter Smits borrowed car would face off with Donald Labuscagne in the silver cup final. Although Labuscagne had been struggling with his Skyline all day he would narrowly beat Venter, leveraging experience over his rival.


The Top 16 tandems did not disappoint and we witnessed a number of match ups that we have not seen before in competition and more than a few that had the small crowd on the edge of their seats on many occasions.


The upset came in the semi finals when the flow of the event was turned on its head as George Myburgh took a win against Leeroy Frans and Tim Stephens beat out Hannes Frans. The top two qualifiers had been placed into a battle for third and fourth while 3rd and 4th qualifiers found themselves in a skirmish for the top step of the podium.

Hannes Frans would take the win over son Leeroy, during their OMT run the younger Frans would loose a tyre in the dying moments and straight-line costing him the race. Tim Stephens took the win over George Myburgh in the final after a small straight-line error from Myburgh, halfway through their final run.


The championship moves into its final stages and with every point counting it’s still anyone’s for the taking.


SA Drift Championship thanks title sponsor Cambees Midas and we all wish Faadhil Bahm plenty off happiness as he begins a new journey as a married man!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *